The Board

The Finnish Institute of International Affairs is directed by a board appointed by the Parliament. The board members are

Kare Halonen (Chair), State Secretary for EU Affairs at the Prime Minister’s Office 
Laura Kolbe (Vice Chair), Professor
Sirkka-Liisa Anttila, Member of Parliament
Simon Elo, Member of Parliament
Ilkka Liikanen, Professor
René Nyberg, Ambassador
Monica Tennberg, Research Professor
Lenita Toivakka, Member of Parliament  
Tarja Väyrynen, Professor 

The board decides, among other things, on the Institute’s finances and research programme, which is realized by the Institute’s researchers according to the principles of academic autonomy. The board also appoints the Director of the Institute.