The Chancellery Commission of the Parliament has appointed the following Members of Parliament as members of the Advisory Council of the Finnish Institute of International Affairs: Eva Biaudet, Tiina Elovaara, Sari Essayah, Maarit Feldt-Ranta (chair), Pertti Salolainen, Matti Semi (vice-chair), Matti Vanhanen and Ozan Yanar.

In addition to the aforementioned, the Chancellery Commission also appointed twelve other members from the Institute’s central affiliates. They are Riikka Heikinheimo, Minna Holopainen, Laura Lodenius, Kirsi Pimiä, Elina Ravantti, Tuomas Forsberg, Iikka Korhonen, Juha Martelius, Pauliina Parhiala, Matti Anttonen, Pertti Torstila and Erkki Tuomioja

The Council’s duties include monitoring the Institute’s operations and liaising with relevant FIIA stakeholders. In addition, the Advisory Council monitors the societal impact of the Institute’s activities. The Council serves a four-year term of office, which commenced in June 2015. Tiina Elovaara replaced Ville Tavio on 5 April 2018.