The Parliament has on 12 February, 2021 appointed Lauri Voionmaa as a member to the Board of the Finnish Institute of International Affairs. Voionmaa is Special Adviser to the Prime Minister and replaces Senior Specialist for EU Affairs Salla Sammalkivi as the representative of the Prime Minister’s Office in the current FIIA Board.

FIIA wishes to thank Salla Sammalkivi for her valuable work as a member of the FIIA Board and wishes her all the best in her new duties at the Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Finland.

The current Board members for the period 1 January 2020 – 31 December 2024 are

Kai Sauer (Chair), Under-Secretary of State (foreign and security policy), Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Finland
Anu Kantola (Vice Chair), Professor, University of Helsinki
Risto Heiskala, Professor and Director of the Institute for Advanced Social Research, University of Tampere
Paula Vanninen, Professor, University of Helsinki
Lauri Voionmaa, Special Adviser to the Prime Minister, EU Affairs Department, Prime Minister’s Office
Mikael Mattlin, Adjunct Professor and Collegium Researcher Mikael Mattlin, University of Turku
Sirkka-Liisa Anttila, Minister (hon.) and MP (emerita) (until 31 December, 2021)
Simon Elo,  Public Affairs Manager, Syöpäjärjestöt (until 31 December, 2021)
Lenita Toivakka, Executive Director, Global Compact Network Finland (until 31 December, 2021)