The Parliament has appointed new members to the FIIA Board for the period 1 January 2020 – 31 December 2024.


Salla Sammalkivi, EU Affairs Department, Prime Minister’s Office

Kai Sauer, Under-Secretary of State (foreign and security policy), Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Finland

Risto Heiskala, Professor and Director of the Institute for Advanced Social Research (IASR) at the University of Tampere

Anu Kantola, Professor, University of Helsinki

Paula Vanninen, Professor, University of Helsinki

Mikael Mattlin, Adjunct Professor and Collegium Researcher at University of Turku​

Sammalkivi was nominated by the Prime Minister’s Office, Sauer by the Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Heiskala and Kantola by the Academy of Finland, Vanninen by Universities Finland Unifi and Mattlin by the Foundation for Foreign Policy Research.

Simon Elo, Lenita Toivakka and Sirkka-Liisa Anttila will continue in the Board as their terms will end on 31 December 2021.