The members of the Advisory Council of the Finnish Institute of International Affairs for 2023-2027 have been appointed by the Chancellery Commission of the Parliament. Pekka Toveri was elected Chairman of the Advisory Council at a meeting held on 6 October. Onni Rostila was elected the Vice Chairman of the Advisory Council. 

The following MPs were elected as members:
Pekka Toveri (kok)
Onni Rostila (ps)
Jani Kokko (sd)
Jouni Ovaska (kesk)
Atte Harjanne (vihr)
Veronika Honkasalo (vas)
Mats Löfström (r)
Sari Tanus (kd)

Also the following were selected as expert members:
Tarja Cronberg, Distinguished Associate Fellow, Stockholm International Peace Research Institute
Jyri Häkämies, CEO, Confederation of Finnish Industries
Kristiina Kumpula, Secretary General, Finnish Red Cross
Hanna Ojanen, Research Director, University of Tampere
Anne Palm, Executive Director, Wide Security Network WISE
Esa Pulkkinen, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Defence
Jukka Salovaara, State Secretary, Ministry for Foreign Affairs
Janne Taalas, CEO, Crisis Management Initiative CMI
Teivo Teivainen, Professor of World Politics, University of Helsinki
Erkki Tuomioja, Minister
Terhi Ylitalo, Senior Adviser, Ministry for Defence
Erja Yläjärvi, Editor-in-Chief, Helsingin Sanomat

The tasks of the broad-based Advisory Council include monitoring the Institute’s activities and maintaining contacts with reference groups that are central to FIIA. The tasks of the Advisory Council also include monitoring the social impact of the Institute’s activities. The term of office of the Advisory Council is four years, expiring on May 31, 2027.