The Executive Board of the Institute has appointed a Scientific Advisory Council for a three-year period between 2024 and 2026. The tasks of the Scientific Advisory Council include offering advice on FIIA’s research policy guidelines, the assessment of the quality and relevance of its research work, and the support of its international activities.

Members of the SAC:

Director Rosa Balfour
Carnegie Europe

Professor Eiki Berg
Tartu University

Henry L. Moses Professor of Law and International Organization, Director, Anu Bradford
The European Legal Studies Center, Columbia Law School

Professor Shaun Breslin
University of Warwick

Director of Research Division Florence Gaub
NATO Defence College

UN Director Richard Gowan
International Crisis Group

CEO Kristian Fischer
KFISCH Consultancy

Director Jakob Hallgren
Swedish Institute for International Affairs (UI)

Professor Mark N. Katz
George Mason University (Chair of the SAC 2021-2023)

Research Professor Timo Koivurova
Arctic Center, University of Lapland

Senior Research Fellow Andrei Kolesnikov
Carnegie Russia Eurasia Center

Senior Research Fellow, Senior Researcher and Director of the SIPRI European Security Programme Barbara Kunz
Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI)

Deputy Rector for Internationalization and Professor in International Relations Raffaele Marchetti
the Department of Political Science and the School of Government, LUISS

Head of College Rory Medcalf, National Security College
The Australian National University

Director, President of the German Institute for Global and Area Studies Amrita Narlikar
German Institute for Global and Area Studies (GIGA)

Chair & Distinguished Fellow Mike Sfraga
Polar Institute; Chair, US Arctic Research Commission

Professor Steve Tsang
the School of Oriental & African Studies, University of London (SOAS)