The Finnish Institute of International Affairs is directed by a board appointed by the Parliament. The board members are

Kare Halonen (Chair), State Secretary for EU Affairs at the Prime Minister’s Office 

Laura Kolbe (Vice Chair), Professor

Sirkka-Liisa Anttila, Member of Parliament

Simon Elo, Member of Parliament

Ilkka Liikanen, Professor

René Nyberg, Ambassador

Monica Tennberg, Research Professor

Lenita Toivakka, Member of Parliament  

Tarja Väyrynen, Professor 

The board decides, among other things, on the Institute’s finances and research programme, which is realized by the Institute’s researchers according to the principles of academic autonomy. The board also appoints the Director of the Institute.